Last-Minute Mom: DIY Ninja Valentines

NinjaCardBlog

Well, I guess it’s not really last minute since I still have almost a week to get these done, but still. I feel like I should have been done with my kids’ Valentines last week. I finally, just now, finished designing them, so now all I have to do is get them all printed, cut, and folded. And, then, I have to do the same for my daughter. Sure, I could go to any store and buy Valentines for both of my kids, but where’s the fun? What’s the challenge? I feel that as a ‘crafty’-type person, I should put a little more thought into these silly things. Plus, I love to see my kids’ eyes light up when I present them with the finished product. Its nice to hear “Wow, Mom, that’s awesome!” every now and then.

Unlike last year, when I made what seemed like a million embroidered felt lollipop lips and mustaches, this year I decided to tone it down a notch, and stick with designing cards. A friend of mine had been asking if I could make her some matchbook sticky note holders, so as I was researching those to see exactly what she meant, I came across some matchbook treat cards. Ding! A light bulb went on above my head. I found some super cute clip art on Etsy here and here (so many great illustrators out there!), some printable papers, fired up Photoshop, and I was off. 

I really loved the ninjas I found, and my 4-year old son has recently been claiming that he wants to be a ninja when he grows up, so these were perfect. Done. The owls I also loved, and my 7-year old daughter did, too, so that was easy. Done. The rest was up to me.

Outside of Ninja Card

Outside of Ninja Card

Front Flap

Front Flap

Sweet Treat Inside!

Sweet Treat Inside!

Yes, I know that pack of M&M’s has been opened. I couldn’t resist!

See how the front flap tucks into the bottom part? Matchbook. I was so tickled with how these turned out, I thought I would share them with the world. I made them into a printable file, which is now available in my shop. Right now, I only have the ninjas available, but I’ll post the owls as well, when I have that set finished. There is some assembly required; you’ll have to print them, borderless works best, cut on the vertical lines, fold on the horizontal lines, then staple your treat in. The “From” field is blank on the printable, so you’ll just have to fill in your little ninja’s name, and that’s it! These are specifically designed to hold the fun size packs of m&m’s, but I’m sure other treats would fit nicely, too. The printable file looks like this:

Your file will not have watermarks.

Your file will not have watermarks.

What do you think? Are you making your kids’ Valentines this year, or are you doing store-bought?

Can’t get enough  ninjas? My sis-in-law has some awesome printable Ninja Activity Packs for Early Elementary over on her blog. And they’re FREE! The preschool pack is coming tomorrow, so I’ll be downloading that for my ninja-loving son. Go check it out!

2 thoughts on “Last-Minute Mom: DIY Ninja Valentines

  1. Pingback: {FREE} Ninja Themed Valentine Printable Pack for Early Elementary | Plants and Pillars

  2. Pingback: {FREE} Valentine Ninja Printable Pack for Preschool | Plants and Pillars

Leave a Reply

