Tasty Tuesday: Oven Baked French Fries

french-fries

 

I have to admit: I’m a meat and potatoes kind of girl. Or, well, mainly potatoes. I’ve yet to meet a potato I don’t like. My favorite? Mashed Potatoes, hands down. Whenever my mom would make mashed potatoes when I was kid, I was right there next to the mixer, waiting to lick off the beaters. She still lets me do it, just because she still thinks it’s funny. I digress.

I have nothing against frozen french fries, they’re quite good when they’re done just right. But the budget doesn’t always allow for the frozen fries, especially when you can get a giant bag of fresh potatoes for about the cost of one bag of frozen fries (I’ll have to do a cost comparison on that, actually). Plus, when I make my own, I know exactly what’s going in and on the fries. Potato, check. Olive oil, check. Sea salt and fresh ground pepper, check. That’s it!

Here’s how I do it:

  1. Wash and scrub about 5-6 medium russet potatoes – adjust for your family size.
  2. Slice each potato in half, then cut each half into strips, or fries. One of these days, I’m going to get a fancy french fry cutter, but for now, I use my favorite super-sharp knife.
  3. You may have to cut the fry in half again, depending on the size; you want to try and keep them around the same size so they’ll cook evenly.
  4. Continue with all of the other potatoes, until you have a pile of fries.
  5. Dump them all into a large zip-top bag, and add about 2-3 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO). Use your judgement here; I usually just pour it in until it looks good.
  6. Shake the bag until all of the fries are coated.
  7. Cover a baking pan with foil, for easy cleanup, then spray lightly with cooking oil.
  8. Dump the fries on the treated pan, and spread evenly, trying to keep them on one layer.
  9. Sprinkle sea salt and pepper (optional) over the entire pan.
  10. Bake at 425 for 25-30 minutes, or until they look nice and toasty

I don’t flip the fries during cooking, but if you want to give that a try, let me know how it works out! I also like to let mine get a little crispy, but not too much.

This is a perfect side to make when you can’t think of anything else, and you have a bag of potatoes that need to be used up. We love to have them with hamburgers, of course. The kids love them!

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Oven Baked French Fries

  1. Love your recipe! especially the olive oil, nice touch! But if you don’t have the time, and the supermarket frozen variety is too pricey (I agree) try the Dollar Tree — I’ve found their frozen fries are good enough (makes my 9 year old very happy) and of course, they’re only a buck.

    As for mashed, I like to keep the skins on and add roasted garlic. Just like a fancy restaurant!

    • I never would have thought of the dollar store. I always thought their frozen stuff looked sketchy! I’ll try them. And those mashed potatoes sound great! Love garlic.

Leave a Reply

