The Day the South Stood Still

I get it. Southerners are generally the laughing-stock of the nation, for more than a few reasons. Every winter we go through the same thing anytime there’s even a hint of snow in the forecast. Most of the time those forecasts never come to fruition, but it seems like every 3 or 4 years, we get slammed. And when we get slammed, boy do we get slammed. Snow Jam 2014 is no exception.

atlsnow2

I’m not going to go into the politics of this mess, or who may or may not be to blame, but I will say this: We all knew it was coming. We all saw the weather reports. I have to admit, I never expected to see it get as bad as it did, and I’m very thankful that my family and friends were all safe, even if they didn’t make it home. I’m so glad I was able to get my children and get home before things got really bad. It took my husband almost 4 hours to drive what would normally be a 20-minute commute. A neighbor abandoned his car and walked 11 miles because it was quicker than driving. Another neighbor ended up spending the night in a hotel lobby because she couldn’t get home, and there were no more rooms. There was even a baby born on the interstate because they couldn’t get to the hospital. A BABY. On a gridlocked interstate. You know it’s a crisis when there’s a baby born in the middle of the chaos.

...the moose out front should have told you.

…the moose out front should have told you.

If you’re from any part of the country other than the South, you don’t understand, plain and simple. Two inches of snow is nothing to those areas that have snow every year, and have the equipment to deal with it. I’m from Pennsylvania, where I remember going to school in 3 feet of snow. No, I didn’t have to walk very far, but those school buses had chains on the tires and drivers who knew how to deal with that weather. Now living in the Atlanta suburbs, I get tired of seeing and hearing people saying “I’m from the North, I know how to drive in this *insert expletive*”. You don’t. You don’t know how to drive in this mess, unless you learned to drive on frozen Lake Michigan or some other sheet of ice. The problem with snow here is that it turns into ice. Fast. So shut your pieholes. And we don’t like your haughty attitude, either, thankyouverymuch. Southerners are polite and all, but there is a breaking point.

This is what we needed on Wednesday.

This is what we needed on Wednesday.

I will say, that in the aftermath of people being stranded on roads for 12+ hours and children being stuck at school overnight, I’m proud to be an Atlantan. There were so many Good Samaritans who out of the kindness of their hearts went out in freezing weather to try and help those in need. They passed out blankets, food, hot chocolate, water, coffee, diapers, and many opened their homes to complete strangers for the night.

These guys rule.

These guys rule.

Two days after the storm, things are still a mess. People are still rounding up their abandoned cars, while the people in charge are pointing fingers everywhere else. Roads are still icy, people are still recovering from various ordeals resulting from the storms, schools were cancelled for another day. Let’s hope we all learned something from this fiasco, and if, God forbid, the zombie apocalypse really does come to Atlanta, we’ll be better prepared.

atlanta-in-the-walking-dead-versus-snow-fall-of-2014

 

2 thoughts on “The Day the South Stood Still

  1. I was so lucky to make it home from work in such a timely manner! My fiance spent 2 hours in the car driving from Dunwoody to Lawrenceville to get me (he got there at 4pm), and then it only took 40 minutes to get home! However, my mom works and lives off the 400 side and spent 9 hours going 7 miles and she left at 1pm. It was so insane!!!! Glad things are getting back to normal, but still pissed they ruined my Nashville episode last night with their bickering about whose fault this all was.

  2. Pingback: Here We Go Again: The South has Fallen…Again | Get S'Moore...

Leave a Reply

