Friday Finds: A Fancy New Bread Machine

zojirushi

 

I’ve always been nuts for small kitchen appliances. I don’t know what it is, but if it’s a kitchen appliance, I absolutely love it, and want it. The fancier the better! When we were registering for wedding gifts, my poor husband-to-be just kept rolling his eyes over my excitement at Bed Bath & Beyond. But he knows me well. Throughout our almost 10 years of marriage, he’s kept me happy with appliances (among other things, of course). A Cuisinart Griddler made an appearance last Christmas, and I was thrilled! We use that a lot.

This past Christmas, he upped the ante, and gave me something I’ve been wanting for a while. A Zojirushi Home Bakery Supreme! If you’re not familiar with it, it’s a fancy bread machine. And when I say fancy, I mean, this sucker will make meatloaf. What other bread machine can do that? The instruction booklet has a ton of recipes, including many different breads, of course, but also jams, cakes, meatloaf, and even sourdough starter. So far, I’ve only made the cinnamon raisin bread, and it was a huge hit with the family. I also like to make pizza dough in the bread machine, and the recipe for that was quite tasty as well.

The main reason I wanted this particular bread machine is that it makes a horizontal loaf, instead of a vertical loaf which many other bread machines make. I borrowed a bread machine from my mother-in-law for a while to make sure I would use it before investing in one, and it did a great job, but the loaf was just funny-looking. Here’s a brief rundown of what else I love about this machine:

  • normal-looking loaf
  • easy to use
  • programmable/delay start (fresh bread in the morning!)
  • gluten-free setting, if we ever need gluten-free bread
  • 2-lb loaf, perfect family size
  • versatile – it will make just about anything
  • 10 minute power failure backup
  • crust choices: light, medium, or dark

Anyway, I’ll stop gushing about my fancy new bread machine, and wrap it up. But seriously, this machine came with an instructional DVD. Now THAT’S fancy.

One thought on “Friday Finds: A Fancy New Bread Machine

Leave a Reply

